Due August 27, His 13th Studio Set Features 25 New Tracks and Collabs With Luke Bryan, Snoop Dogg, Melissa Etheridge and More – Pre-Save/Pre-Add HERE Now

NASHVILLE, TENN.  (June 25, 2021) – MULTI-PLATINUM Country star Trace Adkins returns with a milestone album on August 27, back with new music to celebrate the 25th anniversary of his debut LP, DREAMIN’ OUT LOUD. To celebrate the announce of the new project THE WAY I WANNA GO, he released a brand-new single in true Adkins’ fashion called “Where The Country Girls At.” The infectious song cascades across genre lines featuring Luke Bryan and Mr. Worldwide himself, Pitbull. “Where The Country Girls At” is your new summer party anthem and this generation’s “Honky Tonk Badonkadonk.”


Marking his 13th studio album, THE WAY I WANNA GO finds a bold hit-maker with a singular voice at his creative peak, continuing down a road which has made him a member of the coveted Grand Ole Opry. Set to be released on Verge Records, pre-save/pre-add THE WAY I WANNA GO here now. Exclusive limited-edition merchandise including a commemorative 25th anniversary personalized platinum plaque, autographed CDs and cowboy hats, and virtual Meet & Greet experiences are available to preorder from Trace’s Official Online Store. See all items at:

THE WAY I WANNA GO, is full of adventurous new tunes and as Adkins keeps one foot rooted in tradition – and the other on his own unique path.

“I don’t know where my place is gonna be when the history of what I did is written,” Adkins says of his 25-year legacy. “But 90 percent of the time, I said what I wanted to say and stuck to my guns and did what I wanted to do … And, this album is as good as anything I’ve ever done.”

Produced by Mickey Jack Cones and Derek George and featuring 25 songs to celebrate the silver anniversary, THE WAY I WANNA GO touches on all the aspects of Adkins’ storied career – from deeply profound ballads to clever-Country party anthems, all steeped in the diverse sound of his Louisiana upbringing.

All-star collaborators include Blake Shelton, Luke Bryan and Pitbull, Melissa Etheridge, Keb’ Mo’ and Stevie Wonder on harmonica, and Snoop Dogg, complementing Adkin’s signature smooth baritone. 

“I am at the top of my game right now as far as my craft goes,” the Country star says. “I’m better at this than I’ve ever been in my life.”


Trace Adkins’ THE WAY I WANNA GO Track List:

  • “Where I Am Today” (Mark Holman/ Rhett Akins/ Dallas Davidson/ Ben Hayslip)
  • “Heartbreak Song” (Greg Crowe/ Johnny Garcia/ Adam Wood)
  • “Where The Country Girls At (feat. Luke Bryan & Pitbull)(Monty Criswell/ Derek George/ Michael White)
  • “Cadillac’n” (Kendell Marvel/ Dan Auerbach/ Paul Overstreet)
  • Finding My Groove” (Dan Smalley/ Casey Beathard/ Houston Phillips)
  • “Cowboy Boots and Jeans” (Jim Beavers/ Lindsay Rimes/ Jonathan Singleton)
  • “Live It Lonely” (Kelsey Hart/ Kyle Schlienger)
  • “Love Walks Through The Rain (feat. Melissa Etheridge” (Mickey Jack Cones/ Marla Cannon-Goodman/ Kelly Archer)
  • “Honey Child” (Monty Criswell/ Robert Counts/ Jimmy Ritchey)
  • “It’s A Good Thing I Don’t Drink?” (Kerry Kurt Phillips/ Jamie Teachenor – produced by Mickey Jack Cones/ Kenny Beard)
  • “Jesus Was A Hippie” (Monty Criswell/ Randy Montana)
  • “Memory to Memphis (feat. Keb’ Mo’ & Stevie Wonder on harmonica)” (Monty Criswell/ Derek George/ Curt Chambers)
  • “You’re Mine” (Mickey Jack Cones/ Steven Dale Jones) 
  • “The Way I Wanna Go” (Barry Dean/ Troy Verges/ TJ Osborne/ John Osborne – produced by Jon Coleman)
  • “It All Adds Up To Us” (Trace Adkins/ Kenny Beard/ Matt Nolan)
  • “If I Was A Woman (feat. Blake Shelton)” (Trace Adkins/ Sherrié Austin/ Jeff Bates/ Kenny Beard – produced by Mickey Jack Cones/ Kenny Beard)
  • “Got It Down” (Craig Wiseman/ Brandon Kinney)
  • “Careful Girl” (Monty Criswell/ Tony Lane/ Brice Long)
  • “Empty Chair” (Lance Miller/ David Frasier/ Lonnie Fowler)
  • “Cowboy Up” (John Pierce/ Tony Lane/ Jordan Walker)
  • “Somewhere In America” (Jon Nite/ Hunter Phelps/ Michael Hardy/ Zach Crowell)
  • “So Do The Neighbors (feat. Snoop Dogg)” (Monty Criswell/ Derek George/ Shane Minor/ Calvin Broadus)
  • “I Should Let You Go” (Monty Criswell/ Tim Mensy)
  • “Low Note” (Monty Criswell/ Derek George/ Michael White)
  • “Welcome To” (Craig Wiseman/ Jacob Rice/ James McCormick)

    Adkins has already shared early tracks like “Empty Chair” and “Heartbreak Song,” as he looks back on a career which began in 1996. Since then, the unique Country talent has sold over 11 MILLION albums, charted over 20 singles, earned the industry’s top awards and garnered over TWO BILLION streams, among other accolades. But he’s far from slowing down, and the scope of THE WAY I WANNA GO is all the proof you need. 

    “I’ve got to the point I think in my career where it’s all up to me now,” Adkins says. “I can do whatever I want to do, and that’s a beautiful place to be. I love where I’m at, I really do. I’ve had the perfect career, and I’m right where I want to be.”

    Adkins is back on the road with a full slate of live performance dates now and will resume touring with Blake Shelton on the FRIENDS & HEROES TOUR 2021 on August 18, with concerts lined up through the end of the year and into 2022.