Performs Lead Single “Better Off” on NBC’s “TODAY” from Nashville’s
Grand Ole Opry House

Follow-Up to 2017’s Something’s Going On, EP Marks First Collection of
Songs Released on Verge Records

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – With more than 11 million albums sold and over 20 charted singles in 25 years, country icon Trace Adkins releases his new EP Ain’t That Kind of Cowboy via Verge Records, available everywhere now. To celebrate the EP’s release, the Grand Ole Opry member performed lead single “Better Off” from Nashville on NBC’s “TODAY” during the 10 a.m. ET hour. Watch the full performance HERE.
“It was a lot of fun to get back into the studio with Mickey Jack (Cones) and work with Bart (Butler) on this EP, and I couldn’t be prouder of these songs from some of my favorite writers,” shares Adkins. “I’m looking forward to what’s to come.”
Adkins’ first collection of songs released on Verge Records and produced by Butler, Ain’t That Kind of Cowboy features six cuts from notable songwriters Aaron Raitiere, Wynn Varble, TJ Osborne, John Osborne and Tony Lane among many more.
“There's a ballad and a couple of mid-tempos,” Adkins revealed to Tennessean earlier this year. “It's a little more sedate, but not unusual for anybody that's followed my career. I love to do that stuff.”
Lead single “Better Off” was released in March of this year with a video premiere on Viacom/CBS Times Square billboards, CMT, CMT Music and, and has since garnered nearly 8 million streams, followed by “Mind on Fishin’” alongside a music video starring T. Graham Brown.
In August, the Louisiana-native released “Just The Way We Do It,” dubbed by Sounds Like Nashville as a “new feel-good, honky-tonkin’ track,” with a Cajun-influenced music video featuring a party complete with a cookout, live music and a mild run-in with the law.
“I'm from the northern part of the state,” Adkins shared with Tennessean. “Cajun influence really isn't as prevalent where I'm from. Still, when I started playing music, I was working with a band from Lafayette, Louisiana, and we'd go play festivals down there. I was exposed to a lot of that stuff. I always liked it. It kinda felt like home to me.” 
Ain’t That Kind of Cowboy EP track listing:

  1. “Better Off” (Hillary Lindsey/Corey Crowder)
  2. “Mind on Fishin’” (Aaron Raitere/Wynn Varble)
  3. “Ain’t That Kind of Cowboy” (Justin Lantz/Stephen Wilson)
  4. “Big” (TJ Osborne/John Osborne/John Pierce)
  5. “Running Into You” (James Slater/Tony Lane)
  6. “Just The Way We Do It” (Jeffrey Steele/Danny Myrick/Kip Raines/Bart Allmand)

Autographed copies of the EP in addition to exclusive new merchandise items are available in the Official Trace Adkins online store.
For more information and additional announcements, visit or follow on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram @TraceAdkins.